Writing Exercise #1 (13)

So recently I have decided to develop and complete writing exercises as part of my journey for creative progress.  The idea came to me when I was reading a novel earlier this week and the author came up with just an incredible way to describe the simplest object, and so naturally I said to myself, “How did he come up with that?” This question lead to the first writing excerise of the blog that I completed today, and will share with you below. Before I get into that, I just want to give a quick reminder about the purpose of Project 366. Project 366 is about writing everyday, taking photos once a week, and adapting one of the pieces of writing into a short film every other week. Why? To improve as a writer and photographer, and analyze how these improvements affect the progression of filmmaking. I hope these writing exercises will accelerate my skills as a writer, and as a resut affect me as a filmmaker.

The first Writing exercise requires you to take a single object and find 25 words to describe it( I will do variations of this in the future and increase the nummber of words, forcing you to get even more creative).

Object: An old used book from an antique store.

1. Old (haha give me a break. it’s just word 1) 2. withered 3. heavy 4. wise 5. poetic 6. blue 7. faded 8. unappreciated 9. lost 10. forgotten 11. french 12. foreign ( another country)      13. foreign ( another time) 14. hypnotic 15. mysterious 16. antiquated 17. legato                          18. minimal 19. frayed 20. worn 21. ignored 22. abandoned 23. drowned 24. nostalgic      25.  formidable

I would love to see what you guys come up with! In the comment box tell us your item and the 25 words you described it with.

If you enjoyed this writing exercise and want to do more, or if you want to help me in my journey for creative progress, please subscribe and leave me your feedback.

This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

